top of page
  • Megan

Shadow ~ Part 10



OK, Sorry this is late, but... here we go!

 

The plan was going well.

They had split into three groups. Group one, Carly and Carson was going ahead to find the rip and make sure no Empties had escaped yet, and to set of the weapon. Group two, Eric and Issa, were carrying the weapon to the rip, and in the case of Carly and Carson being unable, Issa would set it off. The last group was Mr. and Mrs. Prince who were scanning the area for any Empties.


As they walked, Issa continued to repeat their mission under her breath, over and over.


"Issa. Once this is over, you'll be queen right? But what if I'm not a good King?" Eric asked.


"Oh, Eric. You would be a great King, the best." Issa replied.


Eric smiled. "Thanks, Issa. I know you'll be a great queen." Eric's sentence ended in a gasp, as Issa screamed.


Eric's face went pale, his eyes went blank, and he crumpled on to the ground.


The Empty now standing where Eric had been a second before, glowed for a moment as it absorbed the rest of his Leif, then it smiled a grim crooked travesty of a smile.

"That feels good."it growled, "Let's have some more."


Issa tried to stand her ground as the Empty threw it's weight on her. Issa's knees buckled and she felt the dead weight of the Empty as she drove her sword in to the hilt.


Issa rolled it off of her onto the grass. It groaned and twitched for a moment, then rasped "I still win."


With a sinking feeling, Issa rushed over to Eric.

"Eric! No no no! Please, no!"


She ripped the weapon out of his pocket and threw it out of the way.


"Come one." Issa whispered as she listened desperately for a heartbeat.


"No! Eric! Please!" Issa screamed as it began to rain. Then a thought hit her hard.


It was already too late, nothing could make it worse. She snatched the weapon from the grass.


"I want Eric back! Please! Please." Issa sobbed.


It vanished with a hiss. Then Issa realized they still needed that. How would they close the rip without it?


At the same moment Eric groaned and began to sit up, "What happened-"


"Eric!" Issa cried, flattening him with a hug, "I thought you were gone!"


"What happened?" Eric asked when Issa finally let go, "And where is the weapon?!"

"Gone." Issa replied, The Empty...and.. and I... I had to save you."

"Issa. You literally just gave up the world for me." Eric said slowly, "Now we're all going to die."


"Maybe. But at least we won't die alone." Issa sighed.


 

Carly gasped as they finally saw it. The rip.


"Weird." Carson muttered as he passed his hand behind it.


"Really weird. The faster we get rid of it the better." Carly said, "The others should be here soon."


So they waited and waited and waited... but no one came.

Suddenly there was a boom, and a blast of strong wind hit their faces.


"What was that?!" Carly asked.

"Something is wrong.' Carson said, "That was the weapon. Someone just set it off."


"What? No, that's impossible." Carly shook her head, "If the weapon has already been used, than what are we going to do?!"

There was tense silence as their minds worked furiously.

Carson slowly reached for Carly's hand.


"Carson!" Carly snapped, as she whipped around to face him, "What are you doing?!"

"I think there's only one thing we can do." Carson said darkly.


"When the weapon is set off, it releases a huge amount of energy. The only thing that gives off energy like that is us. " Carson took a deep, steadying breath.


"No! No, don't say that. That might not have been the weapon. They can still make it in time." Carly protested.


Suddenly noises began issue from the rip. Something was coming.


"Carly there's no time." Carson said quietly, "We have the chance to save everyone. Isn't that worth it? Mr. and Mrs. Prince said only one Shadow dies if they touch, and it'll be me. No problem."


"Why don't we find a way that no one has to die?" Carly cried.


"Carly, I was ready for this the whole time." Carson reminded her gently, "This is why I pushed you away. Not to hurt you, to save you. You're just making it harder."


"Carson, you're a part of my life now! I can't just go on with out you." Carly replied.


"That's life. You lose people you love, but you can't just stop living."


"But if I'm honest, if I could chose how I died, it would be just like this." Carson said with a smile, "On my own terms, with you. I'm not alone and I'm not afraid."


"So let's finish this quest," He held out his hands, "Together."


"I'm sorry we couldn't find another way." Carly whispered.

"Don't be. I'm with the person I love most, right up till the end." Carson said.

And they reached out to take each others hands for the first and last time.

They hardly even felt it before the energy from their Leif blew them apart and everything went dark.


 

Did you cry?

That's what I was going for. ;) JK. It's just I cried while writing it, thought that might be because I'm tired. XD

The Finale will be out this Saturday at 4:00 pm!

Thanks guys!

~ Megan

30 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page