top of page
  • Megan

Shadow ~ Part 1




 

Carly was getting worried.


Mr. Cabot and the twins were at work and school respectively, but they should've been home by now. Carly was able to excuse the lateness for a while, but now that they were 2 hours late.


The tiny kitchen/dining room rang with the sounds of Carly keeping the supper warm.


She could hardly keep from imaging what might have happened. A few times she even contemplated going to look for them, but ruled that out. She was not allowed outside the house.


She was in fact so absorbed in these thoughts, that she jumped at the sound of the door opening. She heard heavy footsteps and knew that, finally Mr. Cabot was home.


She hurried to get supper on the table, saying as she did, "You sure are later coming home today, sir. How was work?"

There was no reply, so Carly looked up.

Mr. Cabot looked broken, dead. His face was white, and the coal dust that usually covered his cheeks was streaked by tears.


"Sir?" Carly gasped. She had never seen him cry, not even when Margret died. "Mr. Cabot, sir, what's wrong? Where are the twins?"


"Gone." his voice was flat, "They took them from the school..." he broke off in a sob.


The room went cold. Carly felt lick she had been kicked, all her breath was gone.

Mr. Cabot had kept her ever since Margret had died. The reason he kept her? Carly wasn't sure. But ever since their mother had died, she, had cared for the twins, Kenton and Coleson.

Losing Margret had felt like losing a mother, losing Coleson and Kenton, like losing little brothers.


Mr. Cabot continued to mutter under his breath, "They told me, they promised... but they lied...they were wrong...they can't protect us...they can't save anyone...I knew she would be trouble..."

He continued to sound more and more feverish.


Carly could only think of one question. "Why?" She asked, "Why would someone take them?"


The room, which had turned cold a second ago, began to rise in temperature as Mr. Cabot slowly stood up.

"You." He whispered, "It's all you."


"What? Me?" Carly asked in horror.


"Yes. You. They told me it was no problem... Why would they target you? I knew something like this would happen... I didn't want to get close to you.... Why did I say I would take you? What was I thinking promising things like that?!" Mr. Cabot began to sound delirious.


"But... I don't understand...why? Why would someone try to hurt you, because of me?" Carly asked worriedly. Had she caused this?


Mr. Cabot didn't seem to hear her. He continued in his feverish conversation, "They warned me...they told me I would regret keeping her...but maybe... maybe they would trade... I could give her to them now...I can save my children... It would be the end of their plan...but... I have to save my boys!"


Carly suddenly didn't like the direction this was going.

"Mr. Cabot what do you mean, 'her'? What's going on?"


"Your coming with me!" Mr. Cabot whipped around and lunged for Carly. She ducked and ran to the other side of the room knocking over the chair as she went.


Carly grabbed the chair and held it out in front of herself like a lion tamer.


Mr. Cabot jumped at her again. After a few seconds struggle he wrenched the chair from Carly's grip, and threw it to the floor. He slowly came towards her, a manic light in his eyes.

In a last desperate attempt Carly shouted, "What about your promise?!"


Mr. Cabot froze. Just like that the blood drained from his face.

"How do you know about that?"


Carly's fear quickly turned to anger, as the danger seemed to pass. That was it. She wasn't going to stay in this house for one more second. She ran for the door.


"Wait Carly! You can't!" Mr. Cabot called, but it was to late. Carly was gone.


"Oh boy. I shouldn't have done that. I hope they're ready for her...the plan is in motion now."


 

Eee! I am so excited for this series! Comment down below what you think, so far, and come back on for the next part!

~ Megan

P.S. I'm actually at camp right now. Do you guys go to summer camp?

34 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page