top of page
  • Megan

Opposites Attract ~ A Photostory


Hey, all!

I'm not sure how I feel about this story. I liked the idea at first but I'm not sure how it turned out. Make sure to let me know what you think. :)


 

Claire and Lanie both laughed as the smack cam video (With described video for Lanie) ended.


"Why are you laughing?" Claire asked, "I thought you didn't like videos where people get hurt."


"I don't, but when you laugh, I laugh." Lanie giggled.

That made Claire laugh harder.


After her laughter subsided, Claire looked thoughtful for a moment.


"What's up?" Lanie asked.

"Well, I was just thinking..." Claire paused.

"What?"


"I was just think. We really are complete opposites, aren't we?"


"Um, I guess not." Lanie said, sounding wary.


Claire grinned, "Wouldn't it be fun if we were the same? Even just for a day?"

"No, Claire. No way." Lanie shook her head.


"Come on." Claire said, "Just one day!"


Lanie was quite for a long while. Claire knew not to push the point, so she waited.


Lanie slowly turned back towards Claire. She smiled.


"All right." Lanie extended, "With one exception. We'll both be me first."


"Fair enough." Claire and Lanie shook hands.


 

"Um, are you sure this is what I'm supposed to wear?" Claire asked doubtfully.


"Isn't that Charlie's pink and denim dress."

"Yeah." Claire replied.

"Then yes, it's right. I wear that dress a lot."


"Oh, um, OK." Claire shifted uncomfortably, "I guess I'm just not used to wearing dresses."


Just then Afton called from the living room, "Hey, Lanie. Are you busy?"


Claire was about to say, 'Yes she is.' when Lanie answered, "Of course not. What can I do?"


"Well, it would be great if you would try on these outfit so I can see how it look." Afton held out an old fashioned skirt and a sweater.

"All right." Lanie agreed.


Afton noticed Claire as she walked up. "Oh, Claire. Wonderful! You can try on this dress and tights combo for me."

Claire groaned.


Half an hour later...

"OK, how about we just try one more outfit?" Afton suggested, just as she had done for the past half hour.


"Nope, sorry!" Claire said, taking Lanie by the shoulders, "We gotta go."


Once they reached the bedroom, Lanie spun on Claire.

"That was so rude!" She exclaimed.


Claire rolled her eyes, "Oh come on. We would have been there all day, if I hadn't done something."


"Nevertheless," Lanie said, "If you're going to be me for the day you have to speak like me. Now, lets go outside."


"Lanie, Claire." Charlie interrupted, "Could you guys help me for a second?"


After a stern look from Lanie, Claire replied, "Of course! What do you need?"


"I need you to taste both plates of cookies and tell me which are better." Charlie said.


"Alright." Claire said.

Claire and Lanie both agreed that the second plate was better.


"OK," Charlie said, "Now how about these two?" She set down two more plates of cookies.


"That one." Claire and Lanie agreed again.

Charlie set down two more plates.


17 plates later, Charlie found 'the perfect' cookie.

"Thanks so much guys!"


"Too...many... cookies." Claire groaned.


"OK, Claire." Lanie said, "Let's go outside now."

"Yeah," Claire mumbled, "Before someone needs help again."


 

"Oh come on. It wasn't that bad." Lanie said while Claire grumbled, "Look, there's Amy. Let's go see what she's doing."


"Please? Pretty please?" Amy was begging Champlain, "Just this one time?"


"Hey, Amy! What's up?" Claire called.


"It's going to rain, and Champlain won't let the others come in the stable." Amy explained.

"But the stable has a whole in the roof." Lanie said, "No one's had time to fix it, yet."


"Well they don't know that." Amy said, "But I'm not sure what to do. Can you guys help me?"

Claire grinned, "We're going to solve this, Lanie style."


 

Charlie sighed, "May I ask why there is a pile of hay on my floor?"


"Um..." both Lanie and Claire said.


Just then the horse, who was not in the leaky stable, walked up and ate the hay.


"Why did you bring the horse in the house!?" Charlie cried.


"Maybe two Lanies wasn't such a great idea." Claire gulped.


"You really wear this kind of stuff?" Lanie asked.


"Yes I do." Claire laughed, "Now lets go play a game on the TV."


"Oh. Hey, Lanie!" Molly called, "Something crazy just happened in my book! So-"

"Sure -" Lanie began, but Claire cut her off, "No. We're busy right now."


"Oh," Molly said looking hurt, "OK."


"I don't think I want to play a game right now." Lanie said, dragging Claire back to the bedroom.


Both Lanie and Claire stopped dead to watch Taryn for a moment.


"Um, excuse me Taryn. What are you doing?" Lanie asked.


"What?" Taryn asked in surprise as she turned around.


"What in the world are you wearing?" Lanie asked in horror.


"Shh!" Taryn waved frantically, "If Charlie ever saw this she would burn it!"


"Right but what is it?" Claire prodded.


"This," Taryn said proudly, "Is my stain collection."


"Oh, that s really gross." Lanie shuddered in a most convincing impression of Claire.


"I'll have you know, I've been working on it for months." Taryn huffed as she pulled on a sweater to hide the collection of old food, smelly substances and much more.


The two Claires spent the rest of the day watching AGTube.


Until the computer died that is.

"I'll go get the family laptop." Claire suggested.


"Oh no you won't." Charlie said, "You're not going to run down two computers in one day."


"Whatever." Lanie said with a most Claire like eye roll.


"Whatever." Claire said.

"Whatever."

"Whatever."

"Whatever."


"Maybe two Claires isn't as cool as I thought." Claire sighed.


"I was waiting to hear that." Lanie grinned.


"You know," Claire mused, "They say opposites attract."

Lanie smiled again.


"Let's agree to never do this again." Claire said as they shook hands.


 

So yeah. Not sure how happy I am with that, but I just got to watch Avengers: Endgame so there's that. XD


~ Megan




36 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page